Ok, I recently had a player use Bind at its most basic level against one of the most powerful creatures in the game, a Krayt Dragon. And it worked.
The power reads as follows.
The Force user restrains an enemy, preventing the target from taking actions.
The user may spend Force pips to immobilize a target within short range until the end of the user’s next turn. If the user used any Force pips to generate Dark Force pips, the target also suffers 1 wound per Dark Force pip spent on the check (ignoring soak).
Now, looking at it from a GM perspective, it seems way too OP. Since the power does not specify any silhouette or power level of the target, if there were a living planet one wanted to bind, then they could do so with the basic level of this power.
I believe this power affects the mind of the creature or somehow inhibits the motor functions of the target, as it can also work on machines. Why not a Star Destroyer? Provided you get close enough to use it.
Am I misreading this, or is there something I’m missing? Is there an Errata that corrects this, or is this as OP as it seems? As a GM, I feel I should limit the effect or at least the effective area to the range of the power, so maybe not an entire Star Destroyer, even at long range. But perhaps an imperial walker and the above-mentioned Krayt Dragon. Regardless, I still consider this an OP power due to its simplicity and utility.
Because three members of a relatively low-level group were able to incapacitate and kill a Krayt Dragon in two rounds with just a heavy blaster and two lightsabers, once it was Bound, utilizing the Vicious quality of the lightsabers, over two rounds they were able to inflict approximately 7 Critical Hits between 5 separate attacks, culminating in a Critical Hit of 171, which ultimately killed it. All of this is due to it being bound by the force power Bind. The first critical knocked it prone, and subsequent criticals rendered it unable to attack for one round. But that’s all it took to make the dragon ineffectual, then dead.
If this is correct, is there any counter to this?
Because if not, then so long as the character using Bind can go before the target, and can maintain it until they can renew it on the following turns, and the players can capitalize on this, then, regardless of the size and power of the creature, it might be as potent as a wet tissue holding a brick.
What say you?