Morality on the Edge (subtitle: passive players)

Fellow GMs, players, game experts please hear me out and help me! (You are my only hope!)

Recently one of my player wanted to become Force sensitive. He is a cunning scoundrel, smuggler by trade, gambling, stealing, shooting first.

I let him, on the condition he picks up a morality so I can keep him in check via his master (a hidden jedi - his only source of learning).

He is not in any way evil character, he is more like a trickster, still selfish acts, silly pranks not far from him. I didn’t intend to change his personality, just a narrative reason his master can scald him for doing too much bad thing.

My problem is, 5-6 sessions later he is now a light side paragon by numbers which honestly doesn’t really makes sense.
He is rather passive, not the most contributing player at the table he doesn’t have many proactive actions and even then rarely does outright bad things. He might steal something shiny, but usually only kills in self-defense, though his crewmates are rather bloodthirsty, but at the least a ruthless bunch of mercs and assassins doing “Edge-like” things.
I check the conflict table after every session, but I don’t feel I could have awarded more conflict to him, especially for things his party does when he is in a different scene.

I probably do something wrong, because him become paragon doesn’t feel right, but I don’t want to rob him the satisfaction. Still I feel like I should change something.

Never played or GMed FnD games so probably doing a lot of rookie mistakes here.
Thanks for the help!

1 Like

I was also dissatisfied and troubled by the rate some players gain positive morality points for being pretty much passive.