Old Star Wars Comic Retrospectives

Here I am, doing a retrospective/review of some older Star Wars comic series. I might add more the more I read, but I’m not much into western comics, and I’m far from a professional reviewer, so these aren’t really comprehensive breakdowns, just my general thoughts and takeaways.

Dark Empire

Technical: Dark Empire (DE), Dark Empire II (DE2), and Empire’s End (EE) were released between 1991-1995. Spread over 14 total issues (6 each for the first two parts, 2 for EE), the series was written by Tom Veitch (with Mike Beidler contributing a bit for EE). DE and DE2 were illustrated by Cam Kennedy, while EE was illustrated by Jim Baikie.

Spoilers ahead.

First, the art. Cam Kennedy’s work on DE and DE2 is interesting, to say the least. Looking at some interviews and background, it seems like Kennedy was going for a slightly Gothic, stylized look. I can’t exactly say I like it overall, and its mostly brought down by the coloring. Almost everything is washed in something akin to water colors, with lots and lots of a seawater green-blue shade. Outside of the cover art, the closest any human character gets to a real human skin tone is a slightly greenish-yellow shade.

I will say, though, that Kennedy’s line art is pretty decent, and there are a few panels that do look good. Some of the panels would make nice-looking stylized posters. Overall, as I mentioned, the coloring really brings the quality down of the art, as characters are often indistinct and blurry, with no clear silhouette for many group shots to tell you who’s who. Thankfully, these art choices spare us from seeing Luke duel a naked Palpatine clone in a semi-realistic style. (I’ve read, although without sources, that Kennedy was suffering from some kind of eye problems that contributed to this, which explains but doesn’t really excuse it, in my opinion.)