When Players Die

So, I for one, HATE when my players die.
Anyways, that’s not the point. The point is when your players are almost dead, how do you make it so that they don’t die so fast?
(I’ve had 2 players die already and I’ve been running this campaign for 2 months once a week)

1 Like

Can you explain in more detail how they died?

The critical system pretty much prevents a surprising sudden death. The PCs and you should have a warning coming. Without a narrative death (PC falls from a 1000’ cliff), the critical injury system requires a total crit roll of 131 to begin to die, or a 151 to suddenly die. Since you roll a d100, that’s gonna require several criticals or one heck of a Vicious rating before you or they need to worry.

In more detail, a 126 roll gives you several rounds before dying (so easy to receive medical aid and survive). A 141 gives you a round. A 151 is immediate death. Thus, you need at least a +50 critical modifier to even begin to worry about the PC suddenly dying on the next attack. That doesn’t come until the PC is on his/her 5th critical injury or is being attacked with an extreme Vicious quality (or combination of both). Thus, once a PC takes his/her first critical, it’s good practice to begin looking for an exit plan. If they are waiting until they have 5 criticals, that’s on them. If they are commonly fighting opponents with high Vicious ratings, then you might be a tad Vicious yourself? :laughing: <— Smiley to ensure that was taken as a joke.

5 Likes

First of all, I hope we’re talking about the player’s characters dying… not the players. (Yeah, I know; I’m hillarious, I am! :smirk: )