Balancing a powerful(?) NPC

Howdy.

Recently, I’ve created a rouge clone that now works for the Imperials for my players to deal with as a mini-boss fight. However, I am not experienced in creating custom NPCs, and I wish for some feedback on how to make him balanced.

Here’s the NPC.

Nemesis class. Blackout’s purpose is to hide behind minions or in tall structures to snipe his opponents from safety. If the enemies get too close for comfort, he has a trusty pistol that he can use to annoy the PCs which shouldn’t be too fatal.

I’m planning on the players having a fight with him in a port area, with a lot of excess troopers around as well as a training arena for Imperial troopers (basically the same as the one we see on Kamino for the clones)

EDIT: I’ve just realized that I didn’t give him any talents besides Adversary. Do you guys have any suggestions talent-wise for a combat-focused NPC?

I’ll give more detailed feedback when I have time, but a key talent that fits the theme would be Imperial Valor, essentially allowing the character to redirect an incoming attack to an ally within Engaged range. AoR CRB, Moff statblock, I believe.

On the face of it, 5 Agility seems too high. That’s where you get to the point of “virtually impossible to miss.” If that isn’t of concern to you, then it isn’t. Just my two cents. I prefer giving 4 Agility and effects that allow either an increase in dice (True Aim) or a decrease in difficulty (Telescopic Optical Sight).

1 Like

The truth of balancing a character is that you’re balancing against something. When you weigh a tomato, you’re weighing it against weights. Otherwise, the scale just drops all the way. Therefore, I’m giving an underinformed opinion since I don’t know the characters and so will have to speak more generally.

Characteristics:

Giving him a spread of 543333 seems a bit overstatted. Just for contrast, in my ~1,500 EXP game I gave Cody a spread of 433332 (though he isn’t an anti-party boss).